Best OM Paper in Operations Research Award

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

Starting 2016, the award is presented biennially to the manuscript deemed to have made the most significant contribution to the theory and practice of operations management published in the preceding four years in Operations Research. The editorial board of Operations Research selects the finalists through a voting process, and a dedicated committee determines the winners.


To see the past winning papers, click on the author's name.

Click here for award application information. 

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Daniel Freund, Massachussets Institute of Technology
Shane G. Henderson, Cornell University David B Shmoys, Cornell University
2023 Finalist
Kostas Bimpikis, Stanford University Ozan Candogan, Booth School of Business, University of Chicago Daniela Saban, Stanford University
Jake Feldman, Olin School of Business, Washington University in St. Louis Dennis Zhang, Washington University in St. Louis
Xiaofei Liu , Alibaba Nannan Zhang, Alibaba
2021 Winner(s)
Kris Ferreira, Harvard David Simchi-Levi , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
He Wang, Georgia Tech
Gah-Yi Ban, University of Maryland Cynthia Rudin, Duke University
2021 Finalist
Ali Aouad, MIT Retsef Levi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Danny Segev
Amr Farahat, Cornell University Joonkyum Lee, Sogang University

Xin Chen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Daniel Zhuoyu Long, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Jin Qi, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

2019 Winner(s)
Jose Blanchet, Columbia University Guillermo Gallego, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Vineet Goyal , Columbia University